How to watch Blue Origin’s Jeff Bezos ride a rocket to space

UPDATE: Jeff Bezos and his three crewmates have efficiently accomplished their journey to the sting of area.

Amazon founder Jeff Bezos is about to go on a rocket experience to the sting of area.

The billionaire businessman will take the journey in a reusable suborbital rocket constructed by Blue Origin, the personal area firm arrange by Bezos in 2000.

The mission will launch from Blue Origin’s facility in West Texas and is slated for Tuesday, July 20. The occasion will mark the rocket’s first launch with a crew on board and its 16th total.

Blue Origin will stream all the occasion in actual time. Check beneath for particulars on watch.

What to anticipate

Bezos will head skyward inside a capsule atop a New Shepard rocket. Joining him for the experience shall be his brother Mark, aviation pioneer Wally Funk who at 82 is ready to turn out to be the oldest individual to journey to area, and 18-year-old Dutchman Oliver Daemen who at 18 will turn out to be the youngest individual to realize the identical feat.

The crew of 4 will fly so far as the Kármán line about 62 miles up, some extent broadly thought of as the sting of area. There they’ll be capable of get pleasure from breathtaking views of Earth whereas floating about contained in the capsule for a number of minutes in microgravity situations.

The Bezos brothers, Funk and Daemen will then return to their seats for a parachute-assisted touchdown close to the launch website. The whole expertise, from lift-off to landing, will final round 10 minutes.

Viewers will be capable of see the rocket launch, the second the capsule separates from the rocket, the rocket’s return, footage from contained in the capsule, and the crew’s return contained in the capsule.

While the mission shall be fulfilling a childhood dream for Bezos to go to area, the flight can even act as a take a look at for Blue Origin’s business area tourism service that may provide high-paying passengers the journey of a lifetime.

#NewShepard is go for launch on July 20 for #NSFirstHumanFlight. This is the 16th flight and first with astronauts on board. Watch reside at https://t.co/7Y4TherpLr. Coverage begins at 6:30 am CDT / 11:30 UTC. pic.twitter.com/hYv68UlCqm

— Blue Origin (@blueorigin) July 12, 2021

How to observe

Blue Origin is planning to launch the New Shepard rocket at eight a.m. CT (6 a.m. PT/9 a.m. ET) on Tuesday, July 20.

A livestream exhibiting all the occasion will begin at 6:30 a.m. CT (4:30 a.m. PT/7:30 a.m. ET) and will be seen by way of the video participant on the high of this web page or on Blue Origin’s web site.

Shortly after the capsule returns to Earth, the 4 crew members will maintain a press convention that can even be livestreamed.

Blue Origin’s mission comes simply over per week after Virgin Galactic founder Richard Branson flew to the sting of area aboard a rocket-powered aircraft forward of the launch of one other area tourism service that’s set to launch in 2022.

The two corporations are anticipated to compete fiercely for purchasers.

Editors’ Recommendations

Guess who Jeff Bezos thanked for his Blue Origin rocket experience

Jeff Bezos makes it to fringe of area (and again) in Blue Origin rocket journey

Blue Origin video highlights path to Tuesday’s first crewed flight

How to observe the ISS relocate a Crew Dragon to make room for a Starliner

Blue Origin rocket launch will embody youngest individual to journey to area

Leave a Comment